Filling in the Blanks

In this post I won’t be discussing the NBA– it’s kind of at a lull right now, in my opinion. Instead, I want to discuss a popular word that is thoughtlessly thrown around in our everyday conversations. It’s a word that generates small talk, brings glorious hope, or perhaps raises questions of the unknown.

It can also bring attractive alliteration to a tagline.

Future.

“My future is at my fingertips.” It’s true. A wise friend told me the other day (and I’m paraphrasing here) that if I want something, I should go after it. This can apply to anything–you may want a job promotion, a car upgrade, a special someone, eternal Paradise. But it’s unlikely that these things will come knocking on your front door. And even if they do, you’ll need to open the door.

You can be a big part of bringing good into your own life and creating a future for yourself that you want, because sometimes having faith just isn’t enough. Hard work, in addition to faith, is what will get you to where you need to be in the future. The basketball legends didn’t just make it to the big league overnight. They practiced, set their goal, and worked towards it everyday. Once in the L, they establish new goals, like winning an NBA Title, becoming MVP, or turning an underacheived franchise around.

I’ve learned that you can’t be afraid of failure.

“I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.” – Michael Jordan

Michael Jordan Championship
Andrew D. Bernstein/NBAE Photos

I’ll leave with this: strive for something. Even if your goal seems impossible to obtain or achieve, don’t let that discourage you. As that same friend advised me, “At least you won’t think, ‘what if?'” You can be satisfied with your sincere attempt. If it doesn’t work out, then it wasn’t meant to be. Though particular pages of our future are set, there are many blanks that need to be filled.

One thought on “Filling in the Blanks

Leave a Reply

