Reunited & It Feels So Good

I woke up this morning around 11 a.m., and I heard Arthur’s Perfect Christmas wasn’t on T.V. Not as disappointed as I thought I would be, I checked ScoreCenter and saw the NBA season opener would be on TNT at 1 p.m. I could have sworn it was supposed to start at noon.

Not taking any chances, I turned on TNT at 11:56 a.m. and found out the game was starting at noon. When the clock struck 12, this played:

So moving, inspiring, and beautiful. Amar’e and Pat Ewing chest-bumping each other; D-Rose and Jordan the same with their fists. James dunking over Erving. Incredibly well done.

Switch over to the starting line-ups and Marv Albert’s commentating with Steve Kerr and Craig Sager with a sparkling red tie. Then, just like I remembered it from 5+ years ago:

Let’s get it started in here.

I want to make it clear that I’m not trying to “cover” the game in the traditional sense of reporting–obviously. I’m just blogging. I’m writing how I felt watching the game.

That said, I’ve never felt so reminiscent while watching a basketball game. This one hit the spot so well. Memories of my friends and I flashed in my mind from the very first year I started paying attention to basketball. We used to shoot around every day in our school uniforms with a basketball not as inflated as it should have been.

So the tip off was controlled by the C’s, but the Knicks took over much of the first-half. Tyson, Melo, STAT, Fields, Toney, Jeffries who can’t stay away from the NYK no matter how hard he tries, and Rookie Iman. Baron and Bibby on the bench. Clyde on the sideline. Spike Lee across the bench sporting Landry’s new #2. Man, have I been waiting for this.

Basically, MSG had a game going on all up in its insides.

Knicks led at halftime, and I went to go pray. Came back  halfway through the third (halftime was shorter than I remember) to see the Celts on the verge of evening up the score, which they did. Then they took the lead without their go-to scorer Paul Pierce, who instead of wearing his green shorts, jersey, and headband was suited up in his red tie and some mandatory bling.

Back and forth throughout the fourth. The Knicks’ offensive flow was slow, but they had their scorers. Melo and Amar’e drained some points and Celtics answered right back. Until they missed.

106-104. Knicks gave the Celtics their 0-1 start.

As for right now, Miami is PULVERIZING Dallas, ABC is transitioning from the game to commercials and back with Justin Bieber Christmas songs, and an angry Santa in the crowd is yelling at LeBron while shooting a free throw saying,

“You want some of this?!”

The NBA and I are reunited, and it feels so good. Say it with me again, basketball is back!

3 thoughts on “Reunited & It Feels So Good

  1. Assalam Alaikum!
    I read every one of your posts! Great updates, awesome homework break. :)
    So did Miami beat Dallas? Btw- I’m a Dallas fan. :P

      • No problem- it’s true! :) Well, I guess they had time to really prepare… :) Yes of course, you will always be a Knicks fan isA! Actually, I’m a Dallas fan because I was born in Texas and because my cousins live in Dallas.

Leave a Reply

