Basketball Commentator

My Brother, The Basketball Commentator

Basketball CommentatorMy brother and I have been watching the ends of close basketball games together for the past few nights. It’s been fun, so here’s the breakdown:

01/05/12: Atlanta Hawks vs. Miami Heat. The game went to triple overtime and I can easily say it was the least exciting 3OT that I have ever witnessed. We started watching on the TV in the basement (because the online TNT Overtime’s lack of game and shot clocks wasn’t working for us anymore) at the start of the first OT. The game went on for another hour, cutting into the entire first half’s airtime of the Lakers-Trailblazers game, which was fine for me because I wasn’t planning on watching that anyway. Or, I should say–it would have been fine if that Hawks-Heat game was entertaining. Nine out of the top ten trending tweets were about the 3OT, and I helped:

 01/06/12: Washington Wizards vs. New York Knicks. I don’t want to say that the game was pathetic, but it was. Wizards hadn’t gotten a W yet, and if the Knicks want to be considered anything close to a contending team, they should have ran over John Wall and his Wizards fast, but they didn’t. Even when people say the Knicks are good–“good” meaning they’ve got “good” players jumbled up together, not necessarily a “good” team–they still aren’t good, which stinks. Quit being subpar already!

01/07/12: Houston Rockets vs. Oklahoma City Thunder. The last of my three-part list was definitely the most entertaining. Goran Dragic was a sight to see. I rarely watch the Rockets, but close games entice me and the free trial period to NBA League Pass doesn’t hurt.

“Kevin Durant is so clutch. He’s as clutch as Carmelo.”

Truth, Bro. Truth.

While watching the above three NBA match-ups, my brother put iO’s pause, rewind, and fast forward buttons to their full use by replaying a good portion of each game even though the station itself would have taken care of that. I’m not going to lie; I was in shock the first night. I had to stop myself from laughing a few times because my brother was getting mad–like, really angry at the sloppy plays he was forced to see. He was shaking his head disapprovingly as he analyzed to their deaths the defensive follies, poorly drawn-up plays from timeouts, and failed pick-and-rolls.

At least three times during those games, my brother spoke the exact words the commentators were about to say, seconds before they said them. He took the words out of the famous mouths of Charles Barkley and Walt ‘Clyde’ Frazier. A Rockets commentator too, but I’m not from Houston or a Houston Rockets fan, so I don’t know the name of the local sports announcer. Even the witty remarks that were strictly just my brother’s opinion–the Rockets commentator last night said the same thing.

It happened with a great enough impact for me to feel compelled to write this post on my blog and to believe that my brother really could be a basketball commentator–not just for me and my sister-in-law, but for the entire fanbase of the NBA.

One thought on “My Brother, The Basketball Commentator

Leave a Reply

