NBA East All-Star Starters 2012

Why I Love Basketball & Hate WordPress

The following is a list I’m compiling to illustrate why I love basketball (for the SECOND time because WordPress stank this morning). I had the whole list completed with pictures, videos, commentary, perfectly formatted–everything done, but WordPress decided to make my post go blank as I clicked preview. This kind of thing happens to me way too often.

Nevertheless, the past seven or eight days of basketball were simply awesome, and I won’t let the glitch ruin that. /saves draft.

#1- January 29: The King of Basketball, LeBron James, jumped OVER John Lucas of the Chicago Bulls, resulting in a major slam dunk.

#2- January 30: Blake Griffin’s MONSTER posterization of Kendrick Perkins. Beast mode.

#3- January 31: Knicks won for once, beating the Detroit Pistons 113-86.

NBA East All-Star Starters 2012#4- February 2: 2012 NBA All-Star Game starters were announced, and the Knicks played their second game in two nights. The NYK hosted the Chicago Bulls at MSG, and came up short at the end of the game. I wasn’t too disappointed, however, because rumors were spreading that Knicks head coach, Mike D’Antoni might get fired the Saturday before Super Bowl XLVI if the Knicks kept stinking up the place. Why Saturday? Because everyone would be preoccupied with the New York Giants versus New England Patriots Super Bowl XLII rematch. SPOILER ALERT: Mike’s still the coach.

#5- February 3: Anthony Morrow of the N.J. Nets put on a show in Newark versus Kevin Love and rookie Ricky Rubio’s Minnesota Timberwolves. Despite Morrow’s career-high 42 points, including an insane 4-point play, the Nets still lost. The Knicks lost their game in Boston versus the Celtics, too. One step closer to a new head coach, right? See above SPOILER ALERT.

Jeremy Lin's Career-Night
AP Photo/Bill Kostroun

#6- February 4: Two words– Jeremy Lin. I first heard of Lin when I watched NigaHiga’s YouTube video, parodying the NBA Lockout. All I learned was that Lin was on the Golden State Warriors, had a sense of humor, and knew Ryan Higa. On Dec. 27, he became a Knick. The Harvard grad-turned-New York Knickerbocker played a career-night at MSG on Saturday putting up 25 points, seven assists, and five boards in 36 minutes. He led the desperate NY team to a 99-92 win over the soon-to-be city-sharing Nets with his and-ones, splitting the defense, and enthusiasm off the bench. Being the girl that I am, I couldn’t stop smiling when I saw the grin on Lin’s face, heard the congratulatory remarks he received from his teammates, and felt through my television screen the chants of “Jeremy” echoing throughout the stands at The World’s Most Famous Arena.

10 thoughts on “Why I Love Basketball & Hate WordPress

  1. OMG! You know I have no interest whatsoever in basketball, but the video of LeBron James literally jumping OVER John Lucas is sooo funny! I showed it to Mohammed and he was lauhing his head off! :D

Leave a Reply

