Rajon Rondo

Dear Mr. Rajon Rondo

Rajon Rondo
Credit: SLAMonline.com

After witnessing a performance like that of Rajon Rondo in Game 2 of the Eastern Conference Finals, I just had to express my new found respect.

Dear Mr. Rajon Rondo,

Tonight, I found myself in a situation I never thought possible. I was cheering you on. I wanted you and your Boston Celtics team in their snazzy alternate jerseys to win Game 2 of the 2012 NBA Eastern Conference Finals.

I’ll admit, back in 2007, I was super happy that the group of guys they call Boston’s Big Three got together. That was one of the more memorable draft nights for me. I was babysitting my 7-month-old niece while watching Commissioner David Stern announce which team selects which player with whatever pick.

Roughly a year later, when the Boston Celtics won their 17th championship, I was thrilled. I was thrilled to see such an historic NBA franchise rise to supremacy after coming off a terrible season that included an injured Paul Pierce and an 18-game losing streak. I was thrilled to see Pierce win the Finals MVP award and get his ring along with veterans Ray Allen and Kevin Garnett who worked long and hard to scream “Anything’s possible” with sweat and tears running down their faces. I was thrilled (and found it quite hysterical) to hear Ray Allen taunt the city of Los Angeles at the Espy’s some weeks later:

“Another win in L.A.”

Since then however, my feelings for the Boston Celtics haven’t been the same, despite the support you receive from Matt Damon, a favorite actor of mine. I find your team arrogant and disrespectful. A kind of hatred has been planted inside of me for the guys in green–by what, I’m not exactly sure.

I’m slowly learning to move beyond all this hating nonsense. I won’t guarantee my support if you make it to the 2012 NBA Finals, but I can say I was rooting for you tonight, Mr. Rondo. Sorry you’re going back to Boston down 2-0.

All I want to see are series packed with hardcore playoff action these conference finals. Your career-high 44-point performance against the Miami Heat has exceeded my expectations of wow, so I thank you.

Keep doing what you do best, and run the show. Like you told SLAM Magazine last year, you’re the best in the League when it comes to that.

Sincerely,
Not your biggest fan or hater…but simply a girl who gives respect where it’s due.

P.S. Sorry I’m late. I realize now you deserved this respect a long time ago.

2 thoughts on “Dear Mr. Rajon Rondo

  1. LETS GO HEAT@! That doesn’t mean I don’t think Rondo’s one of the best PG’s in the league next to chris paul but the Heat won’t be out of the series by these guys

Leave a Reply

