The King Gets His Ring

I’m shaking my head at how I’ve failed to blog through the NBA Finals. I was busy for a couple days, yeah, but for some reason I just wasn’t feeling WordPress.

But last night–last night was different.

It feels like the entirety of the professional basketball world has changed because LeBron James won his very first NBA Championship on June 21, 2012.

The Miami Heat closed out the series against the Oklahoma City Thunder in Game 5 on Thursday night on their own home court in South Beach.

Oklahoma City Thunder v Miami Heat - Game Five

I’m kind of at a loss for words. I’m not super happy with the results, but at the same time, I’m not mad. Though I wasn’t rooting for the Heat in the Finals, I’m actually glad LeBron got to taste the satisfaction of holding the Larry O’Brien and his Finals MVP trophy. It bothers me how people just wait and hope to see him fail. Haters start making issues personal–like taking ill shots at how LeBron feels about his time in Cleveland, his headband and hairline, and that he’s a selfish person.

“It got to me. It got to me a lot.”

I think that’s what really hit me too. The only criticism LeBron said affected him after his move to Miami was about selfishness. People called him selfish, and he knew that’s exactly what he wasn’t. The expert commentators mentioned more than once how LeBron is one of the most unselfish players in the League. His distribution of the ball to his teammates in Game 5 was flawless. He dished out 13 perfect assists to the other Miami Heat players, and there were guys in double figures across the board.

LeBron said he played to prove people wrong last year, and that’s where his mistake was. People would hate, and he played to prove the haters wrong.

But as we all know, haters gonna hate.

LeBron realized he had nothing to prove, because he was a team player. He always had been. Whether or not people chose to see that, he could do nothing about.

So, he came into this season with a new mentality.

“You can’t control what people say about you, what people think about you. You just have to be true to yourself and true to the people around you, your loved ones.”

NBA Champions play with love for the game, dedication, and hard work. And like the King with the long-awaited new ring said,

“Hard work pays off.”

Not a Heat fan–but I’m definitely not a hater. So, I believe congratulations are in order. Congratulations to the Miami Heat on their second championship and to LeBron James for his well-deserved Finals MVP award.

3 thoughts on “The King Gets His Ring

  1. Great post, good take! I haven’t followed basketball much in years, but I knew enough to know what he was saying. The smile on his face and the slow-mo jumping up and down that they showed was so touching. You can just tell how hard he’s worked for this, and that he really doesn’t take all of the credit. To him, it’s a team effort and a team win. That’s a good leader.

    • He’s definitely a leader, and I think his teammates really respect him. Btw, thanks for convincing me for posting soon after the game! I probably wouldn’t have done it until way later. =)

Leave a Reply

