Un-Slumping Yourself Is Not Easily Done

Oh, the Places You'll Go! by Dr. SeussAs my sister’s visit to N.J. and summer as a whole comes to an end, I, as well as every other student, find myself rewiring my brain back to school mode.

It was ironic that my niece who can now read asked me if she could bring the Oh, the Places You’ll Go! book downstairs from my room to read. I said sure (I like it when kids occupy themselves reading), and she ran up to get the book. Later after lunch and ice cream, I saw the book sitting on the dining table, so I opened it. Apparently I have brains in my head and feet in my shoes, so I can steer myself in any direction I choose.

I received the “Party Edition” of Oh, the Places You’ll Go! as a high school graduation gift from one of my teachers more than two years ago. After reading it again today, I think I’ll make flipping through its pages a start of the semester tradition. It’s so thought provoking and real. It has the power to present to you your life with your specific challenges and endeavors in cute rhyme printed on colorful pages.

Dr. Seuss makes a rough roadmap of your life. You start off with your head held high, searching for that perfect path where everything just happens. When you find it, OH! THE PLACES YOU’LL GO! Flying high and far, it’ll be great! But what goes up, we all know it must come down, and you’ll be in a Slump, with a capital S. Dr. Seuss doesn’t lie to his readers promising a confident march down a guaranteed path of success.

“You will come to a place where the streets are not marked.

Some windows are lighted. But mostly they’re darked.

A place you could sprain both your elbow and chin!

Do you dare to stay out? Do you dare to go in?

How much can you lose? How much can you win?” – Dr. Seuss

I just love how a children’s author like Dr. Seuss–perhaps the first author I ever heard of, perhaps the first author whose book I read on my own–can still make a mark on me 15 years after kindergarten with just his words…his deep and profound words.

The story continues life’s journey beyond the Slump; it even warns that unfortunately, un-slumping yourself is not easily done. Being in a Slump is tough enough…then you need to break out of it. Seems impossible at times, doesn’t it?

But the Slump isn’t the last page in the book, and it doesn’t need to be the last page in your day, your summer, or your life. I suggest you grab a copy of Oh, the Places You’ll Go! for your own bookshelf to see what treasures potentially lie beyond the Slump, and have it there to remind yourself of the better possibilities that await. With the help of Allah, those potential possibilities can become beneficial realities.

“KID, YOU’LL MOVE MOUNTAINS!

So…

be your name Buxbaum or Bixby or Bray

or Mordecai Ali Van Allen O’Shea,

you’re off to Great Places!

Today is your day!

Your mountain is waiting.

So…get on your way!” – Dr. Seuss

Leave a Reply

