Let the Games Begin!

NBA Opening Night 2012 Miami Heat vs. Boston Celtics on TNT Overtime
Photo Credit: Screen Cap from TNT Overtime

The 2012-2013 NBA season is officially underway, people! The Miami Heat received their championship rings, Ray Allen suited up in the white home jersey versus his former team in green, and Miami leads 62-54 at the half.

Oh, and I don’t have power.

I live in New Jersey, a state that’s been hit by Hurricane Sandy. Thankfully, there isn’t much for me to complain about at all. It’s true there’s no electricity in my house, but my family was fortunate enough to get a generator to allow light, wifi, phone chargers, and heat in at least one room for some time. That’s how I’m writing this post at the moment. That’s how I’m watching the game too–TNT Overtime, which still doesn’t display the game clock for some reason.

Last night, the winds shook our house up a bit, but we remained indoors, and nothing more than a tiny roof leak and a power outage affected us, thank God. It’s not freezing  where I am, so with a hoodie and socks, we aren’t feeling the cold. Our stove isn’t electric, so we’re able to warm our food and cook if we need to. I’ve got my family with me and my sisters checking in via text. There is way more to be thankful for than to complain about, Alhamdulillah, all praises are due to Allah.

I pray everyone stays safe out there. I didn’t imagine the NBA’s opening night to look exactly like this (divided into four live camera feeds on my laptop screen with no game clock), but it’s better than nothing…

…just like candlelight is better total darkness, wearing hoodies and socks is better than walking around barefoot, and family is better than no family.

4 thoughts on “Let the Games Begin!

  1. This is such a sweet post! You are absolutely right about being surrounded by people you love in difficult and frustrating times! And in case you’re wondering, I’m writing this from my iPhone, we don’t have power either.

Leave a Reply

