I Believe [They] Can Fly

State Farm All-Star Saturday Night
The Sprite Slam Dunk Competitors
Credit: Jesse D. Garrabrant/NBAE/Getty Images

So last night’s contests didn’t live up to my expectations. Maybe it’s always like this, and I was forgetting how repetitive everything gets? I’m not sure…regardless, All-Star Saturday a BIG night in the NBA, and I’m glad I was able to see it. Sure, my favorites didn’t end up winning their respective competitions, but we’re still NYK all day.

A point system was implemented in each of the four contests (Shooting Stars, Skills Challenge, Three-point Shootout, and Slam Sunk Contest), so by the end of the night Team East or West would be crowned winners of All-Star Saturday and win $350,000 for a specific charity. Runner-up gets $150,000 for another charity. Team West won with a total of 140 points over the East’s 125. 

I was most excited for the Sprite Slam Dunk Contest–I feel like most usually are. Because c’mon, watching athletic basketball players dunk is impressive.

Last night’s contest would have been more impressive I think, if it wasn’t SO overhyped. Obviously, I can’t dunk, so whenever I see anyone do it, it’s cool. These guys jump some three feet in the air…that’s some serious lift off.

Legend says James White, one of the competitors last night, can fly:

Okay, so he can’t fly like an eagle, but he’s closer to Spongebob’s dream than I ever was. He travels through the air for a while, that’s why we call him James “Flight” White. His nickname explains the flight attendants, in case you were wondering why they were there. This dunk should’ve scored of 50/50, or at least higher than the competitor dunks for the round, which all earned full points.

The winner last night was Terrence Ross of the Toronto Raptors. I liked his first dunk for the final round, a tribute to VC No. 15, former Raptor and Slam Dunk Champ:

Vince Carter was one of my favorite players when I first got into basketball. Ross remixed Carter’s dunk from 2000–that’s before I followed the sport. I’d definitely heard of and seen this classic VC before though. Everyone talks about Carter’s slam dunk performance that year, and the recognition is well-deserved:

THIS WAS THIRTEEN YEARS AGO! Note how much fashion changed…look at Craig Sager’s normal suit, haha.

Tonight is the last night of the 2013 NBA All-Star Weekend. It wraps up with the highly-anticipated All-Star Game. The biggest names in the League today will be ready to go, and I’m rooting for Team East, as always. It’s kind of weird considering three Miami Heat players and a Celtic are starting for the East along with Melo, and I passionately root against those teams in the regular season. BUT it’s fine. I’ve noticed it’s way easier to tolerate these guys over the All-Star break because everything is simply for good fun (yet the weekend is fancy too with the swift passes, slam dunks, sparkly lights, and trend-setting fashion statements).

I don’t know how to end this, so I’ll be normal/boring and just type good-bye!

Leave a Reply

