Sweet Victory

New York Knicks v Boston Celtics - Game Six
Photo Credit: Brian Babineau/NBAE/Getty Images

The New York Knicks advance to Round 2, the Eastern Conference Semi-Finals! This is the first time I, as a fan, can say my team won an NBA Playoffs series. :’)

Prior to the first-round match-up against the Celtics on April 20 two weeks ago tipped off, I published this. It was a preview, get-pumped-up-type post. Today, I’m celebrating.

Last night’s game six was a roller coaster ride, with all the thrills, anxieties, and screams you’d expect. The Knicks built up what a rookie fan would call a comfortable lead–26 points up in the fourth quarter with roughly nine minutes of clock left. But the game wasn’t over then. A game is NEVER over until the clock reads 0.00, and even then–there may be an overtime period.

Game 6 of the best-of-seven series was at the TD Garden in Boston. The Celtics faced elimination for the third time in a week, so they weren’t about to go out easy. They went on a run, 20-0. As in, they scored 20 points in a row, and the Knicks scored 0 to answer back. Oh, the things I shouted at the television screen last night. Nothing foul–because I don’t function like that–but nothing nice either.

When the buzzer sounded, it was official. The Knicks moved onto Round 2 of the 2013 NBA Playoffs–the first time they won a series in 13 years. I went to tell my parents the news–and my mom said I came to feed them mithai because that’s what people from my background do to celebrate…mithai kilathay.

Despite not having any Indian sweets on me to share with my folks, last night’s victory was very sweet indeed.

Chum Chum - Indian Sweets
Chum Chum – Indian Sweets
8 thoughts on “Sweet Victory

  1. Hahahahaha!!! I can almost picture your family feeding each other mithai kilathay. But, since you didn’t have any, we’ll feed each other kheer and flan tonight to celebrate haha! :)

      • Oh wait no, I just realized that “mithai kilathay” means eat sweets. Oops lol, I thought it was a type of sweet. Really? Lol I think mithai can look different. Like, some are those round balls (like rasmalai) or they’re those square sweets you get in those boxes in India. And yup, cya!

    • Now that I googled-images “rasgulla”, I get it lol. Haha I just googled-images “mithai” before, and there were all these picture of sweets in all these different patterns and arrangements. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten a single one lol.

Leave a Reply

