Keeping up with the Tradition

Rutgers

At the end of every semester (or in this case, some two weeks after the semester), I like to look back on my classes and experiences from the previous four or so months. Writing it down–er, typing it up–is how I record some of the highlights. I am now officially done with my junior year of college. I’ve got one year left, if God so wills, but surprisingly, I am not freaking out about that at the moment. Maybe it’ll hit me in September. We’ll see.

This past spring semester was one I didn’t absolutely love. I loved two of my classes for sure, one was good, and the other two were kind of like…eh. Regardless, I took something away from each one, and that’s what matters most.

I looked at life in a sociological way for the first time with some 300 other students, while our professor jumped atop his desk, flailed his arms, ran around the room, and wore a kilt to grab our attention.

I learned details about Islamic history and theology from the Shi’a perspective with the sweetest professor, passionate classmates, and curious friends.

I witnessed the awesomeness of Twitter projected on a big screen inside a classroom and used it as a tool to study information for a midterm, not as an optimal method of procrastination.

I discovered the importance of building trust with classmates in order to get an online task completed on time and with flair week after week.

I revamped a cover letter with the guidance of a dedicated professor who knows his students can succeed. This professor was one I had in the fall, and he told me he hopes to see me in another one of his classes. I signed up for his Mass Media Management class not knowing what it was, and it turned out to be one of the most important courses I took in college because it prepares students for the professional world of communicating with higher-ups in the best and most impressive way possible. The professor encouraged me–believed in me–and sometimes that’s exactly what we need, right? A little push and a little faith from a respected person who knows what he’s talking about can go a long way.

Overall this semester was a good one, Alhamdulillah. I found passion to report and write the truth, courage to challenge my comfort zone, and even a little confidence to believe in myself. There is still a long way to go, of course. The more I learn and experience, the more I realize I have much to read and do.

I’m looking forward to the journey.

Leave a Reply

