It’s Been A Long Time Coming

It’s about time I update this blog? Yes. It’s about time I graduate from college? Arguable. Either way, both happened.

Exactly three years ago, I launched H2 Hoops. On May 19, 2011, I tipped off. And today is the first year I didn’t miss my blog-iversary.

A lot happened since the last time I wrote on here. So much that it hurts to realize I didn’t write about it. Better late than never though, right? I guess I should break it down a little.

SLAM

The last I shared about me and SLAM regarded a print “In Your Face” column in Issue 176. I got to write a whole lot more for both SLAMonline and the print mag since then, and still love each minute. What’s been especially fun: recapping Playoffs series. The lovely editors I work with offered me an opportunity to write about the first-round awesomeness that was the Oklahoma City vs. Memphis Grizzlies series (Links for Game 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7), followed by the Western Conference Semifinals match-up between the San Antonio Spurs and Portland Trail Blazers (Links for Game 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5). Tonight tips off Game 1 of the Western Conference Finals between the Spurs and Thunder, and Alhamdulillah, I get to cover that series as well. :)

Aside from the Playoffs recaps, I wrote a couple online features too, including one about the Black Fives exhibit in the New York-Historical Society and a story about a league very close to home, Muslim Basketball.

I can’t emphasize enough how amazing this ride with SLAM has been so far, Alhamdulillah.

Rutgers

I also can’t emphasize how amazing this ride with Rutgers was either. It’s a little sad I reached the end, but as a friend told me earlier today, life’s about moving forward. So I’m fresh off this Rutgers train, but Alhamdulillah the experience left a goofy smile on my face and the sweetest memories in my mind.

Graduation was yesterday, and it was a day filled with friends (old and new—from middle school until this most recent semester) and family (also old and new—from the ‘rents to the newborn nephew). Alhamdulillahhhhhh. Plus of course, the more general categories of classmates, some I never even talked to but recognized from courses past, and the #MuslimsOfRutgers who made my college experience.

I feel like there’s so much more to say, but Insha’Allah I’ll transform the different things I heard and experienced these past couple of months into more well thought-out posts because those are more fun to read (and write) than a list of updates. I had to get something posted to end this dry-spell though, so that’s why this post exists.

You’ll be hearing from me sooner than later Insha’Allah. Thanks for sticking with.

3 thoughts on “It’s Been A Long Time Coming

Leave a Reply

