#Blessed: Google Maps

This post is a part of a series called #Blessed, an effort to recognize a blessing in every day.

This is gonna be a quick one for today. About a half hour ago, I got home to my parents’ place after driving a new route. It took some time, it was dark, but Alhamdulillah, roads were clear this Sunday night after a very snowy Saturday.

Google Maps is one of my best friends on a long solo ride. It tells you what lane to be in, the names of the roads to turn on, and it even welcomes you to a new state upon your car crossing the border.

That welcome announcement is one of the best feelings, to be honest.

Just when I get manage to navigate the unfamiliarity and hustle and bustle of New York roadways, I hear the comforting “Welcome to New Jersey” announcement in that Google Maps’ lady’s voice, and suddenly, the route seems a lot easier. There often is still an hour or so left of the journey, but the level of driver confidence rises. My license plate now matches the other cars, at least.

Alhamdulilllah, I’m home. Still in my coat and hijab with my backpacks of stuff surrounding me in the family room…but the drive was a lot better than expected.

Leave a Reply

